Will James Stewart return for Budds Creek?

With a win under his belt and possession of the red number plate to signify his position as the 450 Class points leader, Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey extended his moto-winning streak to four last weekend, claiming his second straight victory and taking considerable momentum into this weekend’s fifth round of the 2012 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing. Southern Maryland’s Budds Creek MX Park, in Mechanicsville, will host the world’s best riders on Saturday for the Red Bull Budds Creek National, which also marks the season debut of live network television coverage on NBC.

Budds Creek MX Park will be the sight of the fifth round of the 2012 season.

(Courtesy Simon Cudby)

Dungey’s 16th career premier-class victory, at High Point Raceway, puts him in a tie for sixth on the all-time wins list with Jeff Emig. It didn’t come easily. In both motos, the 2010 series champion was challenged by MotoConcepts Suzuki’s Mike Alessi, who led nearly half of each moto and forced Dungey to put forth a calculated attack.

In the end, Dungey posted a moto sweep to equal Team Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart in total moto wins and overall victories. He sits 42 points above Alessi, who moved into second by virtue of his runner-up effort. Additionally, Dungey is the only rider in the series to finish on the podium in every moto thus far, and will look for his second career win at Budds Creek.

As for Stewart, his return to action after recording no points at the third round of the championship resulted in an impressive come-from-behind effort for fifth in the first moto. However, he did not return for Moto 2 due to soreness in his right (throttle) hand. With a week of rest ahead, he and the Yoshimura Suzuki team will reevaluate heading into Budds Creek. Despite his time off the track, Stewart still sits fifth in the championship standings.

Last season at Budds Creek, Chad Reed raced to his third win in the first four rounds, with Ryan Villopoto and Dungey rounding out the podium.

450 Class points leader Ryan Dungey is looking for his third straight victory this season.

(Courtesy Simon Cudby)

Through the first four rounds of 250 Class competition in 2012, four different riders stood atop the podium. Last weekend at High Point, GEICO Honda’s Eli Tomac became the division’s first repeat winner, outlasting his teammate Justin Barcia in a captivating battle for the overall victory that came down to the final lap of competition. Tomac’s last-lap pass for the lead on Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen in the second moto secured his second win in three races, thanks to a fourth-to-first charge through the field over the final seven laps.

Despite missing the overall podium for the first time this season, Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Blake Baggett maintains possession of the red number plate, but his lead has diminished. He currently holds a seven-point advantage over Barcia, with Tomac and Roczen 11 and 17 points behind, respectively.

Last season at Budds Creek, Tyla Rattray took the overall victory, with Dean Wilson and Barcia joining him on the podium. With Rattray and Wilson currently not scheduled to compete this weekend, a first-time Budds Creek winner will emerge on Saturday. International riders have won the past two races at the facility, which could bode well for German-born Roczen and his French teammate Marvin Musquin.

Eli Tomac has won two of the last three races in the 250 Class and sits third in points.

(Courtesy Simon Cudby)

Currently in the midst of its third decade of motocross competition, Budds Creek is one of the most renowned tracks on the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship schedule. Sitting in the shadow of the nation’s capital, it is a popular stop for riders and fans alike thanks to its stellar sight lines, thrilling elevation changes, and challenging terrain. The facility has produced some of the most memorable moments in American Motocross since hosting its first national in 1989.

The Red Bull Budds Creek National will be the first of three rounds of the championship broadcast exclusively on NBC. The national network television exposure will bring the action into millions of homes, allowing viewers to see the world’s best do battle.

Coverage from Budds Creek begins on Saturday, June 16, with live coverage of the first 250 Class moto on FUEL TV, beginning at 1 p.m. Eastern, followed by live coverage of the opening 450 Class moto on NBC at 2 p.m. Eastern. Both motos will also be streamed live on AlliSports.com.

Live second-moto coverage of the 250 Class continues on FUEL TV at 3 p.m. Eastern, while NBC Sports Network wraps up the day with live final moto coverage of the 450 Class, beginning at 4 p.m. Eastern.

Previous Round Results and Current Standings

Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship
FMF High Point National
High Point Raceway – Mt. Morris, Pa.
June 9, 2012
Round 4 of 12

450 Class (Moto Finish)
1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM (1-1)
2. Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., Suzuki (2-2)
3. Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki (3-3)
4. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda (4-8)
5. Davi Millsaps, Cairo, Ga., Yamaha (9-4)
6. Brett Metcalfe, Mannum, Australia, Suzuki (7-5)
7. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Kawasaki (6-9)
8. Ryan Sipes, Vine Grove, Ky., Yamaha (12-6)
9. Nico Izzi, Rochester, Mich., Yamaha (8-10)
10. Michael Byrne, Rockhampton, Australia, Suzuki (13-7)

450 Class Championship Standings
1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM, 186
2. Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., Suzuki, 144
3. Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki, 141
4. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda, 128
5. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Suzuki, 116
6. Brett Metcalfe, Mannum, Australia, Suzuki, 114
7. Nico Izzi, Rochester, Mich., Yamaha, 95
8. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Kawasaki, 90
9. Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Kawasaki, 84
10. Kyle Chisholm, Valrico, Fla., Kawasaki, 66

250 Class (Moto Finish)
1. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda (2-1)
2. Justin Barcia, Monroe, N.Y., Honda (1-3)
3. Ken Roczen, Apolda, Germany, KTM (5-2)
4. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Kawasaki (3-5)
5. Marvin Musquin, La Reole, France, KTM (6-4)
6. Wil Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Honda (4-9)
7. Ivan Tedesco, Albuquerque, N.M., Kawasaki (7-10)
8. Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M, Suzuki (13-6)
9. Kyle Cunningham, Fort Worth, Texas, Yamaha (14-7)
10. Jessy Nelson, Paso Robles, Calif., Honda (10-11)

250 Class Championship Standings
1. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Kawasaki, 175
2. Justin Barcia, Monroe, N.Y., Honda, 168
3. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda, 164
4. Ken Roczen, Apolda, Germany, KTM, 158
5. Marvin Musquin, La Reole, France, KTM, 117
6. Wil Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Honda, 101
7. Blake Wharton, Pilot Point, Texas, Suzuki, 87
8. Ivan Tedesco, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki, 86
9. Kyle Cunningham, Fort Worth, Texas, Yamaha, 86
10. Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M, Suzuki, 77


Next up in News

Red Bull Romaniacs LIVE on MOTO